Chicken and Turnips

This is the way I LOVE to cook! Wasn’t really planning anything for dinner, maybe even just hitting up a restaurant. Walking through the grocery store to pick up a few items for the test kitchen, I saw a HUGE pile of turnips with the greens still attached. I’d never cooked turnips these were local, fresh, and beautiful — I had to cook them!

 

I didn’t remember to take a pic at the store, but here’s what I brought home:

 

I also grabbed a chicken and a bit of bacon and got to work.

 

After butchering the chicken, I marinated the legs and thighs in hot sauce. Chopped and braised the greens in bacon fat and white wine. While that was going in the pressure cooker, I boiled the turnips and smashed them with butter and black pepper.

 

Here are the results:

 

Leave a Reply

