Late Fried Rice

It was late. I just got back from visiting a friend at Howl at the Moon. After a couple of adult libations, I was hungry… I knew that there was rice leftover in the pressure cooker from the other night’s gumbo. I figured that I’d fry a couple of eggs sunny side up warm up the rice and have a late night snack, my version of "fourth meal".

 

As I went to put the rice in the microwave, I decided to take a look at what was in my fridge… I found some things and changed my plan… There was 3/4 of a package of Chinese sausage, this stuff is awesome, it keeps forever and is my sister’s favorite addition to stirfrys. I also had some peeled and de-veined shrimp that I had planned on making into shrimp salumi. I also found a carrot, onion, soy sauce, and hot sauce. Now I’m in business… Fried Rice!

 

Ingredients:

3 cups cooked white (jasmine) rice.

2 eggs.

3 links of Chinese sausage (sliced 1/4" thick).

4 large shrimp (peeled, deveined, sliced in half).

1 carrot (julienned).

1/4 medium onion, sliced.

2 tspn soy sauce, or to taste.

2 tspn sambal chili garlic sauce, or to taste.

 

Method:

Start by browning the sausage in a frying pan. You’re looking to render some of the fat here so you’ll want a medium- medium low flame.

 

While the sausage is browning, prep the other ingredients:

sliced sausage.

 

Shrimp ready to go:

 

Carrot before:

 

Carrot after:

 

The cut used on the carrot is known as a julianne… a very versatile cut to know how to execute. If you haven’t mastered this skill, check out this video of someone else doing it.

 

Sliced onion.

 

Veggies go into the frying pan with the sausage (turn the heat up to med-high when you add the veg), once they start to become tender (~2minutes) move everything over to one side of the pan. In the newly cleared pan real estate add the shrimp.

 

After the shrimp starts to become pink at the edges flip each shrimp. Also, add the rice right over the veggies to start warming it up.

 

Add the soy sauce and sambal to the rice.

 

Time to bring some of Wylie Dufresne‘s best friends to the party… crack two eggs over the rice.

 

Stir everything to combine and to cook the egg. I like my eggs BARELY set so I cook the combined mix for about 30 seconds… go longer if you like your eggs harder.

 

*I would have LOVED some green onion to mix in at the end, but there were none in my fridge:/

 

Not a bad looking plate for 2am!

 

This is one of those "recipes" that the ingredients and measurements are meaningless. If you learn the technique, you can make fried rice out of anything in your kitchen… you don’t even need rice! try Quinoa, barley, or any other cooked grain. Fried rice is one of the first things my mom taught me to cook. I think it was for a 3rd grade homework assignment. That single lesson has served hundreds of meals for me! This is my general position on cooking… learn a few techniques, combine some imagination/innovation, make thousands of dishes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

